home t-shirts art and books mp3mails shows videos shellshag contacts Follow shellshag on Twitter

SHELLSHAG I "why'd i have to get so high?" LP


Any musician you talk to that is familiar with Shellshag regularly uses one word to describe these DIY stalwarts: Inspiring. Over the years, the duo has grown into Brooklyn’s answer to Dead Moon, transcending the simple label of “a band” and becoming an institution in their own right. They are true out-and-out lifers, in it for the long haul, and a reminder that perseverance is key in any artistic endeavor.

Why’d I Have to Get So High? is Shellshag’s fifth LP, and the culmination of 20 plus years of resilient effort and artistic growth. Recorded by Jerri Queen (Vacation) and John Petty (Vacation, Sleeves) at The Lodge (Kentucky), the sixteen tracks represent the band at the peak of their career, reinforcing their stripped down sound with additional instrumentation and the occasional lush arrangement, and guest appearances from members of Vacation, Tweens, Pretty Pretty, Swim Team, and Black Planet, and from long-time collaborator Marissa Paternoster of Screaming Females.

01. Unacceptable

02. Capitvator

03. Blowin IT

04. 5 1 and Change

05. Rattletrap

06. '90s Problem

07. Tiger Stripes

08. RIP

09. Sun Moon and Stars

10. Pretty Eyes

11. Hold You in My Arms

12. Baby Come Back

13. 50/50

14. Protect The Flower

15. Baby's Arms

16. Down the River